Mother of Springfield homicide victim speaks out

Published: Jun. 26, 2024 at 9:20 PM CDT

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (KY3) - A grieving mother has a plea for gun owners after her son’s tragic death last week in Springfield.

Marisha Thompson says she’s living every parent’s nightmare. She says gun owners need to be more responsible when it comes to securing their firearms.

“The doctor looked me in the eyes and told me that he didn’t make it. I hit the floor,” she said.

Thompson remembers the impact her son, 16-year-old Devondre Thompson-Baugher had on others.

She said, “My son was full of joy. He brought happiness to everybody he came into contact with.”

Last week Thompson-Baugher was shot while at a friend’s house on East Linwood, near Sunshine and Oak Grove Avenue in Springfield. Two teens who were at the home were questioned. One was arrested and is now facing charges of a delinquent act, which is equivalent to an adult charge of involuntary manslaughter.

“There was a gun in the house that they were at. They were messing with the gun. They didn’t think it was loaded. And now my son is gone,” said Thompson.

She says she doesn’t believe the shooting was an accident and wants others to be held responsible.

“Why was the gun left out? Why was it not locked up? Why were they able to even get to the gun? I think that his parents should be charged. They should have to go away too. They should have to feel what I feel right now. Yes, their baby is still alive. Mine’s not. But they should have to pay for that. Their negligence is why my son is not here,” she said.

Thompson also hopes justice will be served to the shooter.

“I don’t want him to ever get out. I know that one day I’ll have to forgive him but right now I don’t see that time. I’m angry. I’m hurt,” she explained.

As for her son, Thompson says his legacy will live on through the organs he donated.

“That’s the one thing that gives me comfort right now knowing that he saved so many people. I just have to keep his memory alive as much as I can,” she said.

Springfield Police are continuing to investigate. Anyone with information is urged to call them.

To report a correction or typo, please email digitalnews@ky3.com. Please include the article info in the subject line of the email.