Swimmer Bobby Finke is consuming calories to win gold

Published: Jun. 14, 2024 at 9:44 AM EDT

PARIS (NBC) - Bobby Finke works like most swimmers in the pool, amassing a lot of yardage.

That allows him to amass the calories consumed out of the pool.

“It is going to be embarrassing if I mess up,” said Finke. “I was bored freshman year in high school, and I saw someone else doing it. So, I was like, I am going home and I’m gonna do it and try and learn.”

“I will have a total of 10 practices just in the pool, a week,” said Finke. “We put in a lot of yardage, we are burning a lot of calories. And I kind of reward myself, I go home and eat kind of whatever I want. A lot of people track what they eat, for myself, yea I’m just, if it is there, I am eating it.”

They start July 26.

Subscribe to our News 10 newsletter and YouTube page to receive the latest local news and weather. Looking to hire people, or grow your business through advertising? Gray Digital Media is your one-stop marketing solution. Learn more.