John Varvatos ’s Post

View organization page for John Varvatos , graphic

19,068 followers

We’ve been celebrating the incredible women we have at John Varvatos across March and learning about the people who inspire them. Today, hear from Senior Manager Customer Experience, Caroline Villamar 'Who is your biggest inspiration and why?' “My biggest inspirations are my parents. Being raised by immigrant parents had its fair share of challenges, from reading documents I was not qualified to read in elementary school and the countless times I pretended to be my mom on the phone with the cable company. However, as an adult I have come to realize how many lessons I learned and how much they have motivated me, and continue to motivate me, to work hard and reach my goals. One of the most important lessons they have shown me is that sometimes you have to do things scared and have faith that it will work out for the best. Coming to a new country, not speaking the language, and not knowing if things would work out is by far the scariest thing they have ever done but they handled every challenge with grace and faith knowing that they made the right decision for our family. This is not to say they ever led me to believe that your goals and dreams come true by faith alone. Growing up I saw my parents work extremely hard. They demonstrated how far you can get if you focus on your goals, have a plan, are dedicated and reliable. I truly believe that it is because of the example that they set for me that I have done my best to excel in any role I take on, always strive for a new challenge and keep my eyes on what the next step is in my growth. Now, as I see my parents enter the next phase of their life, retirement – they continue to inspire me for new reasons. I see the emphasis they place on enjoying the fruits of their labor, always putting family first and making memories every chance they get. I am inspired by their journey, their growth, and for simply put, being the very best they could be for their children.”

  • No alternative text description for this image

To view or add a comment, sign in

Explore topics