“The support I get from the hospice has changed my life for the better”

Cleophas, 84, is living with prostate cancer and has been visiting the Marie Curie Hospice, Hampstead for two years. He says his visits to the hospice gym have helped him feel stronger and more mobile again.

Cleophas working out in the hospice gym
Working out in the hospice gym

“Being able to go somewhere that improves my wellbeing ��� as well as being around genuine people that I can talk to – makes such a huge difference to my life.

“Knowing that I’m not the only one in this predicament has helped me immensely. It’s made me be thankful for what I do have. The more I visit the hospice, the more my strength is improving. They are really helping me.”

Getting stronger

“I notice the difference in the things I need to do around the house – I can do them now! I’m a builder and carpenter by trade, so I notice lots of little jobs that need doing at home.

“For example, my shed roof had a hole in it and the water got in – the roof was rotten. It had been like that for a while, but as I’m stronger from exercising regularly at the hospice gym, I decided to try replacing the roof myself.

“I went to the builders’ yard and got the timber I needed. I got on top of the shed and fixed the roof. Now it’s waterproof again. From using the hospice gym, I was able to do that. Now I can mow the lawn and do various other jobs, too. I’m a lot more independent than I was.”

Cleophas playing the drums in music therapy
Getting into the rhythm in music therapy

Feeling good

“I also attend music therapy classes at the hospice. I play the drums, bongos and cymbals. I listen to a lot of music at home and like to get into the rhythm of things. I enjoy a bit of Motown, country, jazz. Dinah Washington, Duke Ellington, that sort of thing.

“The support I’ve had from the hospice has been great. I didn’t know what to expect when I first came, but it’s been fantastic. At the beginning I couldn’t walk as well as I’m walking now, so I know the exercise is doing me some good.

“They show me what to do and it’s just great. It’s brilliant, in fact – I just feel so much stronger now.”

Support the Great Daffodil Appeal

Wear your daffodil this March and help us care for more people living with a terminal illness, and their families.

Find out more

More ways to play your part in the Great Daffodil Appeal: