Prep Athlete of the Week: Landon McAnelly, Post 6

Published: Jun. 11, 2024 at 3:10 PM CDT

CHEYENNE, Wyo. (Wyoming News Now) - It’s been a roller coaster of a week for the Sixers as they dealt with a sudden head coaching transition.

Despite that, Landon McAnelly was Mr. Consistent. Across the past week he posted five games out of eight with multiple hits, and McAnelly’s success throughout this entire year is a product of his work from behind the scenes last season.

”I just felt really on time this week. It wasn’t anything adjustment-wise. I just felt really on time for fastball, and I felt like I adjusted to off speeds really well too,” McAnelly said. “[In the offseason] it was really just working on bat path a lot and just having confidence. Because last year was a lot of learning and watching, and then this year-- with my brother [Colter] leaving and everyone who left-- it just felt as if I had to take a step. So I just worked on my swing and made sure I can hit the ball where I want it.”

McAnelly batted .458 during that eight game stretch with an OBP of .552, and was crucial in the Sixers winning the Aaron Phillips Memorial Tournament over the weekend. He was the team leader in both RBIs and runs scored in Greeley with nine apiece, and he was 2-4 with two RBIs, a run, and a walk in the championship game against Gillette.

As the program looks ahead to the rest of what’s already been a dominant season-- McAnelly says that even though they have a new manager in the dugout-- the team chemistry is as strong as ever.

”It’s pretty high since almost all of us have been playing together for awhile. Everyone else who hasn’t, it’s like bringing someone in, showing them the way, and they’re right into it. So it’s so smooth, and everything operates at a really comfortable level for everybody and it’s fun,” McAnelly said.

Congratulations to Landon McAnelly on his strong performance this season.